Northern Indiana Bike Trials Competition
May 21-22, 2005
By Sam Markley

Great weather and great riders drew a huge crowd at the Northern Indiana Biketrials Competition. There were crowds of 20+ spectators at two different sections at the same time.

Once again, Duncan Kopp Richardson dominated the Pro class on Saturday. Sunday's Pro class was brilliantly won by Madison, Wisconsin's Peter Hellenbrand.

Traveling all the way from Harbor Springs, Michigan, Ryan McVicker took first place in Expert on Saturday. Even though this was his first comp, he advanced to Pro on Sunday and placed second. Sunday's Expert winner was Jim Keck from Evansville, Indiana.

There was a heated battle in the sport class both days. Kelly Catlin competing in his first comp swept the class. There where 7 riders on Saturday and 8 riders on Sunday, by far a fun class.

It was exciting to see the amount of new novice riders, this shows our sport is growing. Motorcycle trials rider Blaine Heppner competed in his first biketrials event and landed a victory both days.

The spectators really enjoyed the 5 Unicyclists that competed. Isaac Lemasters won on Saturday, and Conner Helser took first on Sunday, followed by John Rierson, who won the B class Saturday. South Bend, Indiana rider Joshua Torraels won the B class Sunday.

Thanks to all the volunteers and sponsors in organizing this event. Hope to see all of you next year!

Sponsors: Trailhouse Bike Shop - Winona Lake, Indiana and - thanks Tim!

Saturday's results
Duncan Kopp RichardsonChicago, IL.24
Peter HellenbrandMiddleton, Wis.39
Roman ChertovW. Lafayette, IN.63
Ryan McVickerHarbor Springs, Mich.9
Isaac NeffGoshen, IN.32 (most cleans)
Paul HempsteadChicago, IL.32
Jim KeckEvansville, IN.45
Mark FeldkampCincinnati,OH.58
Alex BelmontChicago, IL.65
Ed RosserCincinnati, OH.67
Rob BringhamWarsaw, INDNF
Kelly CatlinPeoria, IL.8
Rudy O'BrianLansing, Mich.17
Andrew O'NeillPortage, Mich.18
George DayNewburgh, IN.20
Daniel MeyerMadison, WI.47
Alan BradshawCincinnati, OH.55
Ben Jones Cincinnati, OH.61
Blaine HeppnerLouisville, KY.1
John KoskiWilliamsburgh, MI3 (Ride off winner)
Bartek KarasChicago, IL.3
Michael YerginNew Castle, In.20
Ethan KronkaKalkaska, MI.23
Sean Felz Petosky,MI.34
Dennis HallWarsaw, IN.DNF
Scott ColePetoskey, MI.DNF
Isaac LemastersWarsaw, IN.1st.
Connor HelserLeesburg, IN.2nd.
Miles PlumleeWarsaw, IN.3rd.
John RiersonBremen, IN.1st.
Sunday's results
Peter Hellenbrand32
Ryan McVicker51
Isaac Neff63
Duncan Kopp RichardsonDNF
Jim Keck50
Mark Feldkamp66
Kelly Catlin15
Andrew O'Neill17
George Day20
Rudy O'Brien35
Sam Markley38
Daniel Meyer44
Bartek Karas47
Ben Jones64
Blaine Heppner13
Eric Graves34
Robby Gas37
Connor Helser1st.
Isaac Lemasters2nd.
Miles Plumlee3rd.
Joshua Torraels1st.

by Sam Markley

Isaac Neff in Expert

Paul Hempstead in Expert

Alex Belmont in Expert

© 2005