Keyesville Classic Competition (NATS #2)
May 9, 2004

Keyesville, California

Story by Jon Maeda

Despite 85 degree temperatures and gusting dusty winds, Williams, Oregon's Jeremy VanSchoonhoven gave the Coustellier bikes a winning debut at the North American Trials Series event #2, the Keyesville Classic Biketrial. On 5 very technically difficult courses designed by top section builder Shaun Miller, Jeremy reigned supreme as he managed to clean all 5 sections multiple times. Only a single dab prevented him from a run-away total clean score. Miller himself rode a great trial and took 2nd place honors with a score of 12 points and 11 clean rides. Connecticut's Tim Finn made the long trip worth his time, as he rode a score of 26 points/5 cleans to a solid 3rd place in the Pro Stock category. The trick looking Coustellier frame drew many admiring comments from the assembled riders, as it was the first time such a bike has appeared in California competition. The big switch in bike brands for Jeremy, and how it would affect his riding was on the lips of more than one biketrials fan. Observed comments ranged from "steel is real, aluminum is bogus" to "Jeremy is the man…he can ride anything". In an amazing display of talent, Jeremy showed off all that he has learned in the UCI battles that he has become a familiar face at overseas. Though he has always been a smooth rider, this writer was amazed at the huge leap in riding improvement that he had made. Also great to see was a very smooth Shaun "the Killer" Miller making his National debut on a factory Zoo Pitbull stock bike. Miller went all out on section building, as the difficulty of the Pro lines were extreme at worst and mega-technical at best. As VanSchoonhoven and his accompanying father Jim walked the sections, they nodded approvingly at their world class nature. Miller has ridden and competed several times in the European BIU rounds, and has done his best to replicate the technical and difficulty on the huge granite boulders of Keyesville. The Pro Modified class saw Ryan Cecil of North Carolina ride to a decisive win over Stevie Morgan of Morgan & Sons Monty in his first National Pro class ride.

This round saw the return to National competition of former East Coast NORBA Pro, Neil Willey, now residing in Arizona. Riding a clunker of a mid-90's GT Team Trials, Willey showed the crowds that it's the rider, not the bike, as he topped the talented Expert Mod class by riding through the entire trial without taking a single dab! Taking a strong, definitive 2nd place behind Willey was a newly-returned Mark Webb from Sacramento, followed by new expert Jon Bott. The Expert Stock class was taken by Phil Lucero of San Leandro on a Planet X Zebdi, chased by North Carolina's Lance Kleffman, also Coustellier-mounted, and local Ty Smith of Ojai.

North Carolina just may be the newest hotbed for biketrials, as they were well represented by 4 riders in 4 classes. Patrick Duggan rode on Kris Scrivens borrowed bike to 1st place in the Sport Stock class, with Veteran Terry Elam in for 2nd, ahead of Cal Poly Pomona's Blair Brown. Oregon's Nate Booster brought home the gold in the Sport Modified class, over 1st timer Andreas Santucci and 3rd place Mikey Morgan.

North Carolina saw victory again, with Mark Yorio topping the Beginner Modified class over familiar smiling face Thomas Elam. Solo Beginner Stock rider Jeff Thompson had a fun time battling himself for 1st place.

Special recognition goes to those NATS competitors who traveled long & far to ride Keyesville! Lance Kleffman, Ryan Cecil, Patrick Duggan & Mark Yorio from North Carolina; Cole St. John, Nate Booster & Jeremy VanSchoonhoven from Oregon; Tim Finn & Mike Steidley from Connecticut; Neil Willey & Kevin Rothman from Arizona; Kurt Mason from New York. Hope you had a good time! Most of all... thanks to mothers far & wide who tolerated us holding the event on your most special day, and for those who braved the heat, wind & sun by actually coming out to support your kids…Diane Morgan, Pam Mason, Debbie Phelps & Mrs. Webb!

A special thanks to those who checked. It's quite a treat to ride an event where waiting is at a minimum, since competitors can ride at their own pace. This is due to having a few checkers at each trap. We paired an experienced checker at each section, with a couple Boy Scouts from Troop 415 of Oildale, CA. Thanks guys: JP Sickler, section #1; Diane Morgan, section #2; Kris Scriven & Jeff Lockmiller, section #3; Dice-K, section #4; Maribel Sturtevant & sister Christina, section #5…we appreciate you all!

Kudos to Kurt & Pam Mason for the donation of cases of bottled water (what a lifesaver in the heat!) and to Tim Williamson of Trialsin USA for the donation of an ECHO Pure frame, used as a raffle prize for the checkers. The big winner was Christina, Maribel's sister, though ultimately, the biggest winner MIGHT be Pete Sturtevant, her brother-in-law! (Editor's note: Yes, it turns out that Christina did give the frame to Pete. Enjoy the frame, Pete!)

A big thanks to those who worked hard to set the sections: Shaun Miller, Ryan Nathman, Stevie Morgan & Sidehop Sam Phelps.

Thanks also to the Phelps family…Howard, Debbie & Katie for working hard setting up & working the registration/scoring area and for the great popsicles at the end of the event. When a rider turned in their final loop card, they were presented a frozen goody! Quite welcome, considering the 85 degree heat. Thanks also to Howard for the cool petroglyph awards that you made from ancient diggings in fossil pits!

Name & Class points / cleans

Jeff Thompson 50 / 1

Mark Yorio 26 / 5
Thomas Elam 45 / 1

Patrick Duggan 25 / 7
Terry Elam 31 / 4
Blair Brown 62 / 1
Ian Hoffman DNF

Nate Booster 49 / 3
Andreas Santucci 61 / 0
Mikey Morgan 67 / 0

Phil Lucero 27 / 5
Lance Kleffman 44 /2
Ty Smith 47 / 2
Pete Sturtevant 47 / 1
Ryan Nathman 48 / 2
Paul Bray 49 / 1-3-3
Kurt Mason 49 / 1-3-1
Kevin Rothman 53 / 2
Sam Phelps 59 / 1
Cole St. John 63 / 0
Jeremy Huber 72 / 0

Neil Willey 0 / 15
Mark Webb 32 / 2
Jon Bott 55 / 3
Tyler McCourtney 55 / 1
YuChian Tseng 61 / 0

Jeremy VanSchoonhoven 1 / 14
Shaun Miller 12 /11
Tim Finn 26 / 5
Mike Steidley 40 / 4
Casey Holm 57 / 0
Kevin Drake 69 / 0
David Brodowski 73 / 0

Ryan Cecil 39 / 2
Stevie Morgan 61 / 2
Zak Maeda 63 / 0
Thank you to Chris Newhart for the photos!


Jeremy VanSchoonhoven

Shaun Miller

Stevie Morgan

Mike Steidley

David Brodowski

Zak Maeda

Kevin Drake

Casey Holm

Ryan Cecil


Ryan Nathman

Ty Smith

© 2005